Setbacks


I’ll soon go back to the doctor and fight the good fight to stay off statins. I want to give my new diet and exercise regimen time to work. Statins are nasty drugs with lots of bad side effects that we are only beginning to understand. Our understanding of cholesterol and lipids and their link, if any, to heart disease are rudimentary. The problem is – now that I’m dependent on getting my T refilled – I can be held hostage by the medical establishment. I’m NOT a happy camper.

To top it off, you have to be your own researcher and doctor. Mainstream nutritional standards are a joke – the highest bidder wins the biggest slot on the food pyramid. Auto-immune disease, obesity and inflammation are epidemic and treatments aimed at symptoms instead of root causes are just throwing gas on the fire.

I am looking down the barrel of a host of health issues but I am convinced that had I not decided to transition I would have had little incentive to get my body back on track. It took 50 years to get here – I have to be patient and remember it’s going to take some time to heal.

Leave a Reply

