“Transguilt” Instilled by American Culture


Interesting idea that love does not automatically include respect – I hadn’t thought of it that way.

Drawing the boundaries is a tougher question when the two take divergent paths. The more I “love” someone (like my mother), the more inclined I am to tolerate the lack of effort on getting the pronouns correct. Toleration comes at a price, however, as I find myself withdrawing from interaction – it just gets too painful.

"Transguilt" Instilled by American Culture.

One thought on ““Transguilt” Instilled by American Culture

  1. It’s a difficult paradox. To me, love expresses itself in action – which in practice often means acting to battle one’s habits, conditioning. So if someone’s consistently making no effort to perceive you the way you ask to be perceived, then they’re only offering “love” strictly on their own terms; that stuff smells stagnant to me.
    And that’s hugely different from someone who’s failing, but clearly trying nonetheless. The love’s in the trying, not in the succeeding.

Leave a Reply

