My Life in Movies: The Matrix


Nice analysis of The Matrix trilogy. It is a common theme – xtianity (and other religions) taking ideas and symbols from somewhere else and calling it their own to win new converts.

godless in dixie

matrix4 When I rewatched The Matrix this past weekend, I didn’t realize at the time that it marked the 15th anniversary of the movie’s initial release.  I remember how much I loved it when it first came out.  I was already pretty emotionally charged because I saw it the week I became a father for the first time.  At that point I was still a devout Christian, and the movie’s obvious infusion with Christian symbolism thrilled me to the point that I became obsessed with the film for a while.  Little did I know I had taken the bait: hook, line and sinker.  I remember trying to convince a few of my friends that the makers of the movie must be closet Christians disguising the gospel as a trenchcoat-clad, anime-style action flick.  One of my friends quite summarily dismissed my thesis by matter-of-factly stating, “It’s just Plato’s allegory of the…

View original post 1,084 more words

Leave a Reply

