THE ULTIMATE SACRIFICE


Wonderful way to look at transition later in life.

IN TRANSITION

I was born in Long Beach, California, the first-born “male” child to parents who dearly wanted children. They named me “Jeff” after a family friend, a man who I would later work for many years down the road.

My childhood was pretty normal by the “Leave It To Beaver” (Google it) standards of the day, at least externally. On the inside of young Jeff, was the feeling that “he” was a “she.” I kept this to myself for the most part. No way could I express exactly what I was feeling for there was no script in 1965 for a child to tell his or her parents “I am not the gender you think I am.”

So, I hinted the best I knew how. I asked what my girl name would have been – “Leslie” – my mother said. I sometimes asked if I could wear a dress when playing…

View original post 1,176 more words

2 thoughts on “THE ULTIMATE SACRIFICE

Leave a Reply

